Background Background Background

Paul Ebert is official Kolberg Newcomer

Paul Ebert is a young German percussionist whose mission is to constantly redefine the borders of artistic creativity and who is committed to finding new creative ways to live and experience music and culture.


As a percussionist with a focus on contemporary music, he is in close contact with artists of his time through his collaboration with well-known composers such as Carola Bauckholt, Martin Bergande, Vinko Globokar, Nicolaus A. Huber, Simon Løffler, Brigitta Muntendorf, Matthew Shlomowitz, Johannes Schöllhorn, Simon Steen-Andersen and many more.


Furthermore, he sets accents together with multimedia composers such as Ricardo Eizirik, Sara Glojnaric, Ardian Halimi, Lucia Kilger, Clemens K. Thomas as well as performers and designers such as Emma Luise Jordan, Ria Rehfuß, Cornelius Reitmayr and Nami Miwa, resulting in specially created and curated projects.


Since its founding in October 2019, Paul has been a percussionist in ensemble s c o p e , which sees itself as a flexible sound body as well as an instrumental and vocal collective and processes current events in an artistic and multimedia way.


With his podcast "Zeit für Neues Zeug" (Time for New Stuff), he addresses topics such as the future of music studies, but also the development of the job market for young artists. As a member of the board of the culture-promoting association zeug und quer e.V. and as project manager for the creative laboratory "NEUES ZEUG", he is already setting impulses for a modern and courageous performance practice far beyond his concert activities as a percussionist.


Paul Ebert studies percussion at the Freiburg University of Music with Prof. Håkon Stene and Prof. Bernhard Wulff as well as music education with Prof. Andreas Doerne, Prof. Wolfgang Lessing and Michael Stecher and gains chamber music experience with teachers such as Pascal Pons and Friederike Scheunchen.


His artistic work is shaped by master classes and workshops with mentors such as Murat Coskun, Christian Dierstein, Johannes Fischer, Max Gaertner, Fritz Hauser, Emma Luise Jordan, Dirk Rothbrust, Rainer Römer, Sarah Maria Sun and ensembles such as Schlagquartett Köln, Ensemble Musikfabrik and its Studio Musikfabrik, ensemble recherche and Ensemble Aventure.


Paul Ebert has been an official Kolberg Percussion Newcomer Artist since 2021.

Please enter these characters in the following text field.

The fields marked with * are required.

Welcome to Kolberg Percussion